Governing Board

July 3rd 2018 

Dear Parents and Carers,

I am writing to introduce myself as the newly elected chair of the Governing Board of Warfield Church of England Primary School. 

Some of you will already know me, but for those of you who don’t, I have been a Local Authority appointed governor for 18 years and my three children have all attended the School, so I know the school well. Having trained as a nursery nurse, I have worked in a range of childcare settings which gives me an insight into the Early Years curriculum. 

My belief is that every child deserves a first class education and to experience a range of excellent opportunities that nurture talent, develop ambition and gives them the resilience and confidence to reach their full potential. 

The years that children spend at our school are critical for putting in place the building blocks of success in later life. It is here at Warfield, in a nurturing environment, that the foundation of a successful secondary school journey is established. 

To help achieve this goal I am committed to leading a Governing Board that puts the progress achievement and personal development of Warfield School’s children at the heart of all we do. 

The values of openness, inclusion, integrity and collaboration should underpin the work of a Board of Governors. Embracing these principles will enable us to be an effective Board of Governors. 

I have worked with the head teachers and staff over many years and working together with all governors, will use this accumulated knowledge, to ensure that the Governing Board provides effective support and challenge to the School Leadership Team, and provides appropriate support and challenge to all members of staff. 

If you would like to contact me to discuss any issues that relate to the governance of the school, I can be contacted via the school offices on both sites or via email,

I look forward to meeting you at forthcoming school events.  

Kind regards,  

Emma Barnard  

Chair of Governors

Governor Profiles

Warfield C of E School has a constitution of 16 governors, a third of which must be represented by the Parent body and each term of office for each governor is usually held for 4 years.

Staff Governors and Parent Governors are elected by a ballot of the communities they represent; Foundation Governors are appointed by the Oxford Diocesan Board of Education in association with Warfield Parochial Church Council; LEA (Local Education Authority) and Community Governors are co-opted by the Governing Body. Governors and the Clerk to the Governors may be contacted via the school address and phone number.

Click on a governors name to see their bio.

NamePositionTypeAppointedTerm Ends
Mrs E. Barnard Chair Local Authority Governor 18/06/16 17/06/20
Mrs M. Shirvill MA Vice Chair Foundation Governor 24/09/18 23/09/22
Mrs A. Kennedy Head Teacher Head Teacher
Miss C. Shephard Deputy Head Teacher Associate Governor 04/05/16 03/05/20
Miss R. Moverley Assistant Head Teacher Staff Governor 24/01/17 23/01/21
Mrs K. Callard Co-opted Governor 03/09/17 02/09/21
Mrs M. Young Co-opted Governor 07/12/16 06/12/20
Mr K. Patterson Co-opted Governor 17/07/18 16/07/22
Mr J. Mawer Co-opted Governor 16/04/18 15/04/22
Mrs S.Alexander Co-opted Governor 27/07/18 26/07/22
Mr S.Booth Parent Governor 23/03/16 22/03/20
Mrs R.Sarney Parent Governor 05/07/18 04/07/22
Mrs S.Hatton Parent Governor 30/03/19 29/03/23
Mrs C. Pollard Clerk
NameTypeAppointedDate Stepped Down
Mr S. Foster Foundation Governor 17/10/14 16/10/18
Mrs R. Marok-Dhanju Parent Governor 30/03/15 29/03/19

Warfield C of E Primary School Governors Register of Interests 2018-19 (1).pdf

Download (121.64 KB)

Attendance at meetings summary2018-2019.pdf

Download (380.78 KB)

In This Section

Style Switcher
Theme Skins